We are excited to announce that the YWCA Aurora has created scholarship opportunities by naming two scholarships: The YWCA Aurora Dr. Rebecca Sherrick Scholarship and the YWCA Aurora Dr. Christine Sobek Scholarship. We have named these scholarships after two amazing women who are devoted to empowering women leaders and are passionate about community outreach.  Their legacies are to be admired and emulated, and the YWCA Aurora is honored to memorialize their legacies by providing these Scholarships.


YWCA Aurora Dr. Rebecca Sherrick Scholarship

   (May 18, 2018 application deadline)

YWCA Aurora Dr. Christine Sobek Scholarship

  (See for application instruction and deadlines)

Named after two outstanding women leaders who represent the community enrichment and women’s empowerment the YWCA Aurora promotes, it is with great honor that we provide these named scholarships to future Aurora University and Waubonsee Community College students who exemplify the YWCA Aurora mission and who further the Aurora community. The awards will be provided annually, as our funds allow; we will seek to endow this fund over time. 


For further information, please contact Regina Pohlschmidt at 630-299-2282 or